Guide to the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ 2018

29 January 2018

Which riders will be their nations' heroes in the build-up to Barcelona?

The world’s top Jumping stars will be targeting national glory after the schedule for this year’s Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ series was unveiled.


The national team competition, won by the Netherlands in 2017, will get under way in Ocala, USA in mid-February and culminate in the final in Barcelona in October.


Some 13 events will take place as 50 nations from four regional divisions fight for a place in the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ Final at the Real Club de Polo.


Here’s our guide to an event considered one of the most important on the equestrian calendar:



The world is split into six regional divisions for the competition - Europe (Division 1 and 2), North & Central America, South America, Middle East, Asia/Australia and Africa.


18 teams qualify for the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ Final, which will be held from October 4-7 and will once again take place at the Real Club de Polo in Barcelona.



Qualifying events will take place in Europe Division 1 & Europe Division 2, North America and the Middle East.


Qualification of teams from South America, Africa and Asia/Australasia will be established through the Longines Rankings.


Places at the final

Europe Division 1: 7 (The seven best ranked National Federations on the Division 1 standings following the last Division 1 qualifier)

Europe Division 2: 2 (The two best ranked NFs at the Division 2 qualifier)

North and Central America: 2 (The two best ranked NFs on the North/Central American standings)

South America: 2 (The two best ranked South American NFs)

Middle East: 2 or 3 (The two best ranked Middle East NFs at the Middle East qualifier).

Asia/Australasia: 2 (the two best ranked Asian/Australasian NFs)

Africa: 1 (The top ranked African NF)



Each nation sends four riders per team to each regional qualifier. Every single rider and horse jumps the first round, and the worst score from each nation is dropped.


All riders jump both first and second rounds. At the end of both rounds, the best three scores of the team are added together (therefore leaving out the worst score of the four riders). The winning team is that with the lowest score of faults.


In Division 1 Events, four athletes per team take part in the first round. Unless eliminated in the first round, eight teams take part in the second round with four athletes each. The home team, if not one of the Division 1 teams, may not return for the second round unless they have qualified among the eight teams allowed to return for the second round.



After each qualifier teams are given points depending on their performance which are added to their total for the season.


The following points system is used for all qualifying competitions:

1st          100 points           6th         55 points

2nd        90 points             7th         50 points

3rd         80 points             8th         45 points

4th         70 points             9th         40 points

5th         60 points             10th       35 points


The Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ Final

The Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ Final consists of three competitions. All qualifiers take part in the first round. Those that are placed 9-18 will progress to the Longines Challenge Cup, which was last year won by the UAE.

Teams placed 1-8 in the first round will compete in the Final competition. All teams start on zero penalties.

Last year’s top eight were:

1             Netherlands

2             USA

3             Belgium

4             Switzerland

5             Sweden

6             Germany

7             France

8             Canada


Keep an eye on your country's progress by following all the action from the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ Jumping 2018 on